Overnite Oats are pretty darn good!

I’ve been reading a lot of posts about overnight oats lately so before bed last night I prepared a bowl.  Seriously, I love oatmeal.  It’s like the perfect food – to me anyway!  I’ve been laying off it lately as I’ve been trying to keep the carbs a bit lower (I recently lost 12 pounds by following a 40/40/20 ratio – more on that later).   Sooo seeing as today is my rest day for workouts, I thought I’d try it.  Here’s the skinny:

Cinnamon Roll O’Nite Oats~

1/3 c Oats (not the minute kind)

1/3c Fat Free Greek Yogurt (I’m into Chobani)

1/3c Water

1/2 scoop BSN Syntha6 Vanilla Shake Protein Powder

Cinnamon to taste

Mix it all in a bowl and stick it in the fridge.  When I got up, I microwaved it for a minute – no way I can eat cold oats – and plopped a tablespoon of crunchy natural PB.  I gotta say it was pretty damn yummy!  Next time I won’t put the peanut butter on top.  It competed with the cinnamon roll type flavor.  Definitely my new rest day breakfast.

As for the kiddies, they had leftover corn cakes we made with dinner last night with a little drizzle of honey and some strawberries. 

Corn Cakes~

1.25C Whole Wheat Flour

3/4 C Cornmeal

2 Tsp Baking Powder

Pinch Salt

2Tbsp Sugar

2 Egg Whites

1/4-1/3C Creamed Corn

1/2C Skim Milk

Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another.  Stir them together and cook it up like pancakes.  I get about 18 kid size pancakes.  These are not very sweet, so if you like them sweeter you can add more sugar or a tablespoon of honey to the batter.

Leave a Reply

