Now I now what 4:50am looks like…

Bugga decided to get up super-duper early for no apparent reason.  Ugh.  No big deal, just gonna need a lot more coffee today.  Peyton woke up around 8 and I made the Best.Breakfast.Ever.   Then we got to gettin!

The morning consisted of a quick trip to BJ’s (how did I manage to run out of wipes?!?) and my office for signs.  I have 3 showings this afternoon to prepare for also.  Reese fell asleep on the ride home and Daddy’s doing some overtime today, so it was Peyton and Mommy for lunch! 

Morningstar Farms Black Bean Veggie Burger on a Joseph’s Flax and Oat Pita stuffed with spinach and some Cedar’s Chickpea Salad from BJ’s (had a coupon).  The salad is tasty, but it doesn’t hold a candle to Stew Leonard’s Tuscan Bean Salad.  I don’t know whether to thank my older sister, Jen, for introducing me to Stewies – or smack her cause it’s an hour away and that salad is like crack!  Peyton had her burger with ketchup (amazing how kids will eat anything if it has ketchup on it) and rice.  After lunch we decided to make some quick bread.  I love quick breads because, honestly, yeast scares me.  I have no idea how to work with it.  I really should just try to make one and get over this irrational fear…

Whole Wheat Oat Quick Bread

12 Servings

Ingredients:

Dry Oats, 1 cup
King Arthur 100% Organic Whole Wheat Flour, 1 cup
Baking Powder, 2 tsp
Canola Oil, 1 tbsp
Honey, 1.5 tbsp
Milk, nonfat, 1 cup
*Nut Mix Anne’s House Good Healthy Energy(Soy nuts, cranberries, almonds & Pumpkin kernels), 2 Tbsp (OPTIONAL)

Put oats and soy mix in a blender and give it a couple quick pulses. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients. Add in wet ingredients.   My sous chef provided the muscle…

Pour into a prepared pan Bake 20-25 min at 4oo*

While it baked, we did some fridge art…

And 20 minutes later we have bread!

Stats (w/Energy Mix)  Cals: 93  /  Fat: 2.2  /  Carbs: 16  /  Pro: 3

Quick Edit:  I saw a post on Kath Eats Real Food with cheese and jam not too long ago and decided I MUST try it.  Twas delish!

2 thoughts on “Now I now what 4:50am looks like…

  1. Thank you for a great idea! I just bought 36 oz worth of the same Soy Energy Blend and had no idea what to do with all of it. Putting a loaf in the oven right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

