Another gray day…but Bobby Flay brings the sun!

So no post last night because I had kickboxing at the best MMA facility in Western Mass, www.fightingartsacademy.com.   Got a pretty darn good workout too!  (The owner had someone there taking pictures for some advertising, thank god I wore something decent!)  I really need to get a HRM to see what I’m really burning!  I’m eyeballing a couple on Amazon but I’m being indicisive.  From what everyone tells me Polar is a good brand, but I don’t know if I really want to spend a ton.   I saw a few older models, but after looking at the newer ones, the just don’t seem all that impressive.  Anyway….

I woke up hungry this morning so an Egg White and Turkey Wrap sounded perfect.  Along with 3 cups of coffee!  

I switched up today’s routine and got Legs and Back done.  I have a client coming in from CA and I won’t have time for a full workout tomorrow morning.

This afternoon I decided to use up some of the tomatoes in the fridge and my new bottle of balsamic vinegar.  I found a recipe from Mr. Throwdown, Bobby Flay, but changed it up (a lot) because I didn’t have Farro, eggplant or goat cheese.   Also, I use the term “bruschetta” loosely here.  There is no bread or oil involved but I couldn’t come up with a better name!

Grilled Salmon w/ Warm Bruschetta and Balsamic Glaze over warm Wheatberry and Asparagus Salad 

(I may have to think of a shorter name!)

Bruschetta:

Red Ripe Tomatoes, 2 cup cherry tomatoes
Garlic, 1 clove
Onions, raw, 1 cup, sliced
Basil, 5 leaves
Salt and Pepper to taste

Grill tomatoes and onion over high heat until tomatoes ‘pop’ and onions brown (throw the asparagus on there too!). 

Toss into blender/mixer with garlic, basil salt and pepper and pulse a couple of times.  Set aside.

Wheatberry Asparagus Salad:

Grapeseed Oil, 1 tbsp
Garlic, 1 tsp
Onions, raw, .25 cup, chopped
Athenos Reduced Fat Feta Cheese, 1 oz
Asparagus, fresh, grilled 1 cup
Wheatberries 1/2c  (prepared according to directions)

Heat oil in a pan and add garlic and onion.  Sautee until fragrant.  Turn down heat and toss in berries and asparagus until heated through.  Turn off heat and add cheese.

To make the Balsamic Glaze:  put 1/4c vinegar into a small pan.  Cook over medium/low heat until it thickens.

My choice for protien here is a grilled piece of salmon, but I’m sure this recipe would work with any meat/fish/tofu combo or on it’s own.

Husband (being camera shy) gave it a thumbs up…

Obviously I hated it.

Stats with 4oz fish, 1/2 the Wheatberry recipe, 1/2 Brucshetta recipe and 1tbps Balsamic Glaze:

Cals:  402 /  Fat: 14  /  Carbs: 38  /  Pro: 33

4 thoughts on “Another gray day…but Bobby Flay brings the sun!

      • Didn’t think Mike would actually let u post him….what a good Guy!!! You an ur salmon..
        crack me up…any other fish u use?

      • He’s a good sport! Tilapia, haddock, shrimp and scallops are at the top of the list. I used to love swordfish but I lost the taste for it after I got pregnant. Which is good anyway, cause you can’t eat it while you’re preggers. Looking for a recipe for fish? I’ll post something new this week…..

Leave a Reply

