Something old, something new…

I’ve been wanting to try making falafel for some time now and I saw a very easy recipe on a blog called Healthy Tipping Point for Sweet Potato falafel.  YUM!  I’ve never had ‘real’ falafel, so I have no baseline to go on here, but I love chickpeas and sweet potatoes so BRING IT ON!!

Easy recipe with some minor changes (I don’t have any tahini and I added sesame seeds to the coating):

Sweet Potato Falafel Makes 8 mini or 4 medium

1/2 medium Sweet potato, cooked – I microwaved it
1/2 c Chickpeas, Goya Low Sodium
1 tbsp (heaping) Hummus or Tahini
1/2 tsp Parsley, dried
1/2 tsp Cumin
Garlic, 1 clove – I recommend a garlic press here!


 Mash ingredients with a fork. 

 With a tablespoon measuring spoon, scoop and roll into a little ball.  I made these kid size to appeal more to the little ones.  Roll the ball into a mixture of:

1tsp Seeds, sesame seeds, whole, roasted and toasted

1/3 c Kikkoman Panko

*Bake 15 min at 400 degrees.  Top with Tzatziki if desired (although, they really don’t need it!). 

Stats:  2 mini or 1 medium

Calories: 127.8 / Total Fat: 1.7 g  /Total Carbs: 24.8 g  / Dietary Fiber: 5.8 g / Protein: 5.1 g

Delish appetizer for sure – on to dinner!!!!

 

Chicken with Sundried Tomato Basil Pesto and Feta    –   I need to come up with shorter names!

Serves 4

4 – 4oz chicken breasts flattened (or you could buy the scallopini)

4 pieces sun-dried tomatoes (rinse if in oil)

1 handful fresh spinach – torn

3-4 basil leaves

1 garlic clove

2 oz Feta Cheese ( I used Atheno’s Reduced Fat)

Oregano

Olive oil

Flatten chicken with a mallet to 1/2-1/4 inch thick. In a blender combine spinach, basil, garlic, and tomatoes, salt and pepper. Pulse 2-3 times (leaving the mix chunky). Place 1/4 mixture and 1/2 oz cheese on each flattened chicken breast and roll up securing with a toothpick. Brush roll with olive oil and sprinkle with oregano. Cook until all sides are evenly browned. TAKE OUT TOOTHPICK BEFORE SERVING!  You might laugh at this disclaimer – but it’s all fun and games till someone loses an eye! 🙂

Stats:

Calories: 185.6   / Total Fat: 4.4 g  /  Total Carbs: 4.5 g   /  Dietary Fiber: 2.2 g   /  Protein: 31.9 g

We’re also getting to the end of the granola so there is quite a bit of crumbs in the bag now…..for my YOGURT!

 Off to bathe the little people who live in my house.  Nite!

Edit:  The falafel recipe came from the blog ‘A year in the Kitchen’ not ‘Heatlhy Tipping Point’.  Sorry, just want to make sure I give credit where credit is due!

Leave a Reply

