We’re not in lunch lady land.

Well the plan for tonite was Sloppy Joe’s.  But, husband informed me this afternoon that he does not like Joe’s, sloppy or neat.  I was surprised because I thought I had his food preferences down pat after 7 years of marriage.  Then I remembered that I’ve never offered to make Sloppy Joe’s before.  I’m trying to make ground turkey more interesting for the kids, ya know.

Change of plans.  I had to get a couple of things at the grocery store today anyway (my BFF is probably laughing cuz she thinks I’m there every day!  Ok, maybe I am – every other day).  I grabbed some salsa, sour cream and taco sauce and made:

Mexican Turkey Bake!

(Please excuse the crap picture.  I was in such a hurry to get the kids fed that I didn’t stop to take a decent pic.)

Ingredients:

1 pkg Extra Lean Ground Turkey

1 c Oats

1 c Canned Diced tomatoes ( I used a mexican salsa flavored one)

1/2 c Salsa

1c Red Kidney Beans

3/4 c Southwest Style Corn (Green Giant)

Onion & Garlic Powders

Mix it all up and spread into a 9×13 dish (coated with cooking spray).  Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.  Top with taco sauce, shredded cheddar, sour cream and a side of blue corn toritilla chips. 

Husband’s second helping. 

Nutritional Info

  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 220.9
  • Total Fat: 2.0 g
  • Cholesterol: 58.3 mg
  • Sodium: 373.9 mg
  • Total Carbs: 31.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 7.0 g
  • Protein: 28.5 g

Enjoy!  🙂

Leave a Reply

