Happy 4th!!! It was a great day!

I couldn’t ask for a better day 🙂  We didn’t have any plans to go anywhere today and that was fine by us! 

I got up early (6:45am) and had my coffee and Eggs-N-Oats.  When the kids got I up, they had their cereal and we were out the door by 8.  I wanted to hit up the fruit market and get a few things at the grocery store before it got too warm.  The plan was to power walk with the BFF.  She called around 9 to say she wasn’t going to make it.  No problem.  Got home, put away the groceries and jumped on the treadmill for 30 minutes of high intensity intervals.  At one point I thought I was going to hyperventalate (spelling?)!  It was AWESOME!   After that I finished my workout with 5 alternating sets of push-ups and pull-ups. 

By the time I was done, it was H-O-T outside, sooooo, threw some swimmies on the kids and about a gallon of sunblock  and headed outside for the day!

I grilled up a classic 4th of July lunch:  hamburgers, hotdogs, turkey burger for me, pasta salad, green salad and some green beans and asparagus.  Yum.

The kids played:

I love Peyton’s bathing suit!  It’s a 2 piece number my sister had gotten for her in Hawaii a couple of years ago.  Soo girlie!

After Reese went down for a nap, Peyton helped me weed the garden..

Then we painted and put together puzzles on the deck so Officer M could have some quiet study time.

Dinner was nice and light.  I started by grilling the remainder of my mini peppers so I could make a Roasted Pepper Aioli  (although it was more of a Grilled Pepper Aioli I suppose…).  I also marinated some shrimp while that was chilling in the fridge.  The game plan for dinner:

Garlic Shrimp Wraps with Roasted Pepper Aioli

First the aioli…

I grilled approx 10-12 mini peppers (red, yellow and orange) until they were charred and soft, only a few minutes.  *One med/large red pepper would be just fine here*  In my Magic Bullet I pressed 1 large garlic clove, tossed in some onion powder, salt, pepper, a squeeze of lemon juice and 4 tablespoons of Hellman’s Light mayo.  Then I tossed in the peppers, skin and all.  Let the blender go until nice and creamy and put it in the fridge for an hour.  Sorry I don’t have more accurate measurements, the only thing I actually measured was the mayo…

While that was chillin, I tossed some (frozen – thawed) shrimp with another large pressed garlic clove, chopped green onion, fresh basil and a good squeeze of lemon.  Set that in the fridge for about an hour, then tossed it on a hot grill pan to warm it up.   Officer M had his on a Flat Out wrap with green leaf lettuce, green beans and leftover pasta salad:

I had mine on large pieces of green leaf lettuce with beans (and the last of the leftover chicken there on the top):

So freakin’ good….

The boy came over and finished up what Officer M did not:

Then it was time to ROAST MARSHMALLOWS!  The kids were waiting for this ALL DAY!

Officer M got the fire pit a-roarin and I helped the kiddies with the mallow stix…

Please ignore our sun-burned lawn.  It’s been kinda dry around here lately and honestly, we aren’t the best landscapers….

Peyton is a pro now!

And to end this glorious day….

I love fruity wine in the summer almost as much as beer. 

Hope you all had a fantastic holiday!

3 thoughts on “Happy 4th!!! It was a great day!

Leave a Reply

