O Bugga.

Reese woke up at 2:45 am in a panic.  He couldn’t find his blankie (I snuck it out of his room last night to wash it).  Officer M took him downstairs to try to soothe him so I could go back to sleep.  At 4:30 I woke again to SCREECHING!  Officer M was trying to put him back to bed – with a damp blanket now – and he wasn’t havin it!  Now it was my turn to take him downstairs.  

Needless to say I’m exhausted.  I mentioned this to my BFF (who is on maternity leave with her twins) and now I feel whiney and ridiculous…

Ok, so the rest of my day – pretty boring.  Phone duty at the office, laundry, emails, cleaning etc.  I did make lunch however:

Chicken Sausage and Peppers Penne (IN-sanely Easy)

Have you met my friend?

This is my Turbo Cooker (aka Wonder Cooker – because it’s a wonder all the things it can do!)

I chopped up a red pepper, yellow pepper and half a vialia onion.  I threw that in the Wonder Cooker with 1.5 cups of dry pasta and 1.5 cups of water. 

Cover and let it cook on high until the pasta is al dente.  While that was going, I cut up some chicken sausage:

Mmmmmm…

Tossed these in with 1 can of diced tomato of your flavor choice, garlic powder, onion powder (and fresh basil cause I have it) and simmer a few more minutes until the favors meld.

Delish.

Tonight is kickboxing night (yay!) so I wanted to get all our play-date treats ready for tomorrow and out of the way:

Melon 😛

PB Banana Drop Cookies

These are carzy easy to make too.

1.5 c Quick Oats

1/4c Smooth Peanut Butter

2 Rip Bananas (mashed)

Raisins and Chocolate Chips

Mix banana, PB and oats together really well and fold in chocolate chips and raisins. 

Scoop into a little ball using a tablespoon.  I only got 19 this time… :/

Bake ’em at 350 for 12-15 minutes until you see browning.  I like to put them in tupperware in the fridge once they’re cooled off.

Seeing as it’s still ridiculously hot here, I think dinner is going to be a Chocolate Protein Ice Cream.  That and I’m sooooo done cooking today.  Have a great night!

🙂

6 thoughts on “O Bugga.

  1. oh the blankie situation—uh my oldest is 9 and still has hers…i told her she could have it, but it no longer leaves the house with us nor can she play with it when friends are over….it’s so thin now…i’ve had to sew it in many places…but she HAS to have it to sleep…and the younger one is just like her sister….

    i just watched Food Inc, and i read Fast Food Nation a while back, and i am all about grass fed meat….i liked reading that on your label of sausage!

    • Yeah the blankets are going to be tough. We got lucky with the two of them giving up the bottles and then the pacifiers, even potty training Peyton was fairly painless, but this is a whole different league!
      I haven’t seen Food Inc. I’m a little afraid of what I might learn! I have seen Super Size me like 10 times though. I don’t eat fast food anyway (nor do my kids), but that movie definately solidified my objection to that junk….

  2. I will definitely have to try the Chicken Sausage and Peppers recipe……..but your cookies look so yummy, I can’t trust myself to make a batch and not eat them all!

    • Hi Anne,
      Yeah, the cookies are pretty awesome. It’s a pretty small batch so most of them got eaten at the play date. There only about 60 cals and 2g fat per (good peanut butter fat!). I love feedback for my recipes, so let me know how they work out and if you tweeked them to make em better! Thanks!

  3. Love the site Tonya! And those cookies are getting made v. soon in this house.

    Food, Inc changed my whole view on food and made food shopping a bit more challenging (and expensive) but I truly feel it’s worth it. Niman Ranch makes great meat products and it’s available at WF.

    As for the blankie…. I won’t tell you how old I was before I finally packed my own one away 😉 lol

    • Thanks Ivy! I will probably end up watching it at some point. Have you read that book ‘Skinny Bitch’? I think it’s along the same lines as Food Inc. A co-worker of mine read it and immediately turned vegan for 6 months! Anyway – hope you like the cookies, see you on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

