Beans, beans the magical fruit. Black Bean Brownies ROCK!

“What!? Black bean brownies you say?’

Yup. Don’t knock it till you try it!

Today has been a go, go, go day and, let me tell ya, I kinda miss being this busy since the housing market has slowed….but anyway….

Up at 6 am and two cups O’Joe later getting my arms and shoulders done.  I realized during last friday’s S&C class that my home workouts have been…..well, sucking!  So I amped up the weights today.  It felt gooooood.  After that, a quick shower, some Eggs N Oats, packed a protein yogurt and out the door for my weekly office meeting.  Which I proceeded to skip 😉   I had a lot to do in a small amount of time!  At noon I headed over to my new listing (gorgeous house!) and a quick stop at home for lunch:

Starting to look familiar?

I made a LOT of Corn and Black Bean Salad!  It’s almost gone, I swear!

Then off to my 4, 4:30 and 5pm appointments.  Which happens to be at the BFF’s property – coffee time!

When I got home I decided that I really needed to get in some cardio today too.  Fed the kids and jumped on the treadmill for 2.5 miles and then……

BLACK BEAN BROWNIES!  I promised Peyton we would make some like, 3 days ago, but it’s been so stinkin hot!

1 15oz can Black Beans (rinsed)

3 Egg Whites

2 tbsp Applesauce

1 tbsp Canola Oil

1/3 c Cocoa Powder  – unsweetened

pinch salt

1tsp Vanilla

1/2 c Splenda (or sweetener of your choosing)

1/4c Brown Sugar

2 tsp Instant Coffee Granules

1/2 tsp each baking powder and soda

Cinnamon (optional)

Chocolate Chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine beans, applesauce, oil, sugars, baking powder and soda, vanilla, cinnamon, coffee, salt and cocoa powder.  So basically everything but the eggs:

An immersion blender is awesome for this recipe:

Looks fudgy huh?  Then in a separate bowl, I whip the egg whites:

And fold them into the batter.  Pour into a prepared 8×8 dish and top with chocolate chips:

Bake for 23-25 minutes.  While you wait, make some Chocolate Protein ‘Ice Cream’ but add cinnamon to it…

Yummmm…. 🙂

Once the brownies have cooled, cut into 16 mini squares.  Here’s the stats

Nutrition Facts     

 

  16 Servings      

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 65.0
  Total Fat 1.5 g
      Saturated Fat 0.4 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.6 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 105.9 mg
  Potassium 142.9 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
      Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
      Sugars 3.8 g
  Protein 3.7 g

 

I promise they do NOT taste like beans at all, and if you don’t trust me, maybe you’ll trust a 3 1/2 year old’s taste buds…

This is her second piece!

Nite 🙂

4 thoughts on “Beans, beans the magical fruit. Black Bean Brownies ROCK!

    • What’s in yours? The coffee really is a tasty addition to these. So is the cinnamon, I love cinnamon in my chocolate. Actually I love cinnamon in EVERYTHING! 🙂

Leave a Reply

