5K & PB2 – No this is not code.

Did I tell you I signed up for a 5K in September?  I’m actually a little nervous about it to tell you the truth!  I can kill a 5K on the treadmill, but running outside is a whole other beast.  I’m going to start carving out time to run by myself at the reservoir (I can’t run with the double stroller – it makes my shoulders lock up!). 

 This morning I just ran on the treadmill as I planned – 2 miles @ 9:15 m/m and a warmup and cooldown walk – 1 mile at 15m/m and 2-5% incline.  Also did my chest and back, just for good measure!

Today I made a couple of easy items that I pulled off of other food blogs. 

First up the ‘Crack Wrap’ (which I believe came from Healthy Tipping Point).  The only difference is that I added eggs whites.  Here’s the breakdown:

La Tortilla Co Healthy Wheat Wrap (low carb)

Wedge Laughing Cow Cheese (low fat)

1 tbsp Cedar’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

3 egg whites

Yummmm.  Very similar to the wrap I was making but this one has cheese!  Sorry no pic – I deleted it on accident!

Next up: Protein Cake-In-a-Mug (from Foods of April)

1/2 Scoop Chocolate Protein Powder of your choice

1 Egg White

1/4 tsp baking powder

1tsp sweetener of your choice

1tsp cocoa

1 tbsp pumpkin or applesauce

Mix all ingredients in a mug (or some other microwaveable vessel) and nuke it for a minute.  Top with some PB.  Pretty darn good for what it is….

I also needed to do something with the cauliflower and eggplant in the fridge.  Roasting it with garlic seemed to be the easiest solution.

Cut it all up and tossed it into a ziplock with fresh garlic and a touch of grapeseed oil:

Spread it onto a baking sheet and roast for 20-25 min at 375 while I cleaned the house.

Money shots:

Now my house was clean AND smelled like garlic!  Heaven!

After I finished at home, I headed over to the BFF’s to help unpack some more today.  As a thank you she gave me this:

CHOCOLATE PB2!!  I have been wanting to try this for a while now!  Basically this stuff is powdered peanuts that have had the oil removed.  You’re supposed to add water to it until you get the consistency you’re happy with.  I’ll try it in my protein shake tomorrow and let you know!

On to dinner:

Grilled chicken, the roasted veg from earlier and my Warm Bruschetta (see recipe page).

The kids helped me pick some basil –

And I got to use the little basket that came with my salad spinner!  Forgot about that thing!

This time I grilled the garlic cloves whole with the onions and tomato and it came out AWESOME!  I will be dumping the rest of this on EVERYTHING for the next 2 days!

That’ll do for today I think.   Gotta go scrub a few layers of dirt off my kids!  Have a good nite 🙂

Leave a Reply

