Don’t Rock the Zucchini Boat!

Look at the size of these buggers!! 

 

Seriously, I wish I could take credit for these monsters, but alas, I cannot.  Ivy informed me last week that I have tube borers in my zucchini and squash plants and that they are goners.  😦  At least I still have my basil and onion….. 

Anyway, these bad boys came from Officer M’s grandpa’s garden.  The one in the middle weighs over 2 pounds! 

What to do, what to do!  Some many recipes running through my head! 

ZUCCHINI BOATS 

I love this dish because it’s super adaptable to whatever ya got on hand! 

1 Super large zucchini (2-3 lbs oughtta do it) 

16 oz pkg 97% Lean Ground Turkey 

1/2 c diced onion 

3 minced garlic cloves 

1 cup spaghetti sauce of your choosing 

1/2 c Low-Fat Italian Style Cheese  

2-3 leaves fresh basil chopped 

Preheat oven to 375. 

Sautee garlic and onion until they start to sweat (I used canola cooking spray).  Add in turkey.  While the meat is cooking, slice the zucchini in half and scrape out the seeds.  Use a spoon to scrape out the flesh of the zucchini.  I used a melon baller here and it made the dish look very pretty.  Toss some veg in with the meat and save the rest for another recipe.  Once the turkey is cooked through, add in the pasta sauce.  Fill each ‘boat’ with the meat mixture – really pack it in there!  Bake covered in a 9×13 dish (add a little water to the bottom) for 25-30 minutes.  

 

Remove foil, top with cheese and basil  

 

 

and bake until gooey and melty.    

   

 

MMMMmmmmchheeeessseeyy….. (I added a sprinkle of parmesan for good measure 🙂 )

Nutrition Facts  
Zucchini Boats – Italian Style  

 

  4 Servings    

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 244.1
  Total Fat 6.4 g
      Saturated Fat 2.3 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.0 g
  Cholesterol 70.0 mg
  Sodium 476.3 mg
  Potassium 486.1 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
      Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
      Sugars 6.5 g
  Protein 32.5 g

 

You can probably expect to see a couple more zucchini related recipes in the next few days.  I’m thinking Blueberry Zucchini Bread and Zucchini Brownies may make an appearance 😛 

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

