Weekend Update (part II)

Sorry it took me so long to get this up, I just got my camera back from the BFF. 

So quick recap:

Saturday we went to a wedding.  This is the first wedding the kids have been invited to and Peyton was ALL ABOUT IT!  We even bought her a new dress and shoes:

She was on the dance floor from the second we got there until the minute we left. 

Reese, on the other hand, played it cool.  He picked up a flower girl (older woman too):

I think he was more about the food though:

They had a blast and we left around 9:30

Us at the beginning of the evening.  (Peyton was mad we pulled her away from dancing.)

************************************************************************************

Sunday I had a Christening to go to.  I am the God Mother to one of my BFF’s twins – Ella Grace.  Unfortunately I do not have any pictures to post because I was holding a baby.  I’m sure you’re heart-broken.

To cheer you up a bit – here are the torturous awesome shoes I wore this weekend:

So worth the pain….

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Yesterday was quiet.  We went for a power walk with Ivy and her lovely little ladies.  Afterwards,  her little one – Elise – got a hold of a can of beans and dropped it right on her big toe, poor thing 😦  I stayed to watch Giada while Ivy took her to the doctor.  Glad to say she took it like a champ and it seems to be ok. 

Last night was kickboxing as usual – except I got to partner up with the BFF!  She always pushes me and I had a good workout.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Today was quiet as well.  It’s a bazillion degrees outside so we only ventured out to Costco (after my HIIT session on the treadmill).  I also got in a good 45 minutes of Yoga today – my hamstrings desperately needed that!

Officer M went into work early so I did some experimenting in the kitchen tonight.

TOFU!

I cut it a little too thin I think.  Here’s what I did:

Cut on block Extra Firm Lite tofu into 12 strips and then in half.  Tossed in a baggie with 2 tbsp cornstarch and ginger.  Heated up 2 tsp Sesame oil in a pan and added tofu.  Sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds and garlic powder.  Cooked till crispy and flip.  What you see in the pan is a little more than 1/2 the block.  

I also wanted to do something with the TVP.  It’s worked great in meatloaf, but I wanted to see if it would stand on its own as a main ingredient.  I rehydrated a quarter cup and mixed it with 2 egg whites, 2 tbsp fat-free cottage cheese, 1/2 oz grated Asiago cheese and italian herbs.  Poured all that in a heated skillet (prepped with cooking spray).  It cooks very similar to Eggs N Oats, but is not as stable so careful when you flip. 

The tofu had a nice crispy outside but lacked a little in flavor.  I think it may work on a sandwich……The TVP ‘Omelet’ was very good.  It had a nutty flavor and a creamy texture inside.  The Asiago made it nice and salty.  I’ll definitely make that again!

Stats on the ‘Omelet’:

Calories 191.3
  Total Fat 4.7 g
      Saturated Fat 3.0 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 0.0 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.0 g
  Cholesterol 12.6 mg
  Sodium 376.2 mg
  Potassium 108.0 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
      Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
      Sugars 4.3 g
  Protein 29.6 g

Stats on the tofu: (if you use the whole block of tofu it should be 5 servings)

Calories 106.9
  Total Fat 5.9 g
      Saturated Fat 0.6 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 1.6 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 29.3 mg
  Potassium 19.4 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
      Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
      Sugars 0.0 g
  Protein 8.4 g

 

Well off to play with the babes.  Have a great night! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weekend Update (part II)

Leave a Reply

