Italian Feast!

Last night’s dinner was a success! But, let me tell you though – EVERY TIME my In-laws come over for dinner something goes wrong.  Last night was no exception.  The grill ran out of gas before the cheese on the chicken melted.  Not a major disaster, but still C’MON!!

Anyway, the food was still delicious. 

Appetizers:

Shrimp crostinis with roasted red pepper aioli:

I was so rushed, I didn’t get a picture of dinner, here’s a recycled photo of my  Chicken Italiano.

Picture this but with asparagus and Garlic Basil Angel Hair pasta:

Dessert was a Low Sugar Berry Trifle (my FIL is diabetic so I try to make things he can enjoy too):

Flour, white, 3 cup
Egg, fresh, 2 medium
Egg white, 4 serving
Baking Powder, 2 tsp
Baking Soda, .5 tsp
Vanilla Extract, 1.5 tbsp
Almond Extract, .5 tbsp

Splenda, 1/2 c
Splenda Sugar Blend for Baking, 1/2c
Applesauce, unsweetened, 1.5 cup

Preheat your oven to 350.  Sift your flour, baking soda and powder together in one bowl.  In another, beat the eggs and whites.  Add in the applesauce, sugars and extracts.  Slowly incorporate the flour mixture into the wet mixture, it will be dry.  Spread into a prepared 9×13 pan for about 20-25 minutes.  Let it cool completely.

**At this point you could make this cake more “grown up” by poking holes into it and pouring a half cup or so of liqueur such as a Amaretto.  This will up the sugar content a bit though.  If you do this, let the cake sit overnight to absorb the alcohol.

For the trifle you will also need:

2 pkgs Prepared Jello Pudding (FF/SF) – I used vanilla flavor and 1% milk

1.5 tubs Cool Whip Sugar Free

1 pt raspberries

1 pt strawberries (sliced)

1 c blueberries

Fold 1/2 tub cool whip into the pudding mix.  Cut the cake into workable cubes and put a layer in the bottom of the bowl.  Spread a layer of pudding on top and toss on 1/2 the berries.  Spread a layer of whip cream and repeat the process.  The cake will be a bit dry after baking because of the lack of fat so you should prepare this recipe a few hours (or overnight!) so the pudding can moisten the cake up a bit.  Voila!  Delish AND good stats: 

Servings Per Recipe: 18
  Serving Size: 1 serving   

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 218.2
  Total Fat 3.5 g
      Saturated Fat 2.6 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.4 g
  Cholesterol 111.1 mg
  Sodium 228.3 mg
  Potassium 159.8 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
      Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
      Sugars 11.6 g
  Protein 6.0 g

 

Before I go I wanted to just share with you another “Huh” moment I had this morning.  I got up early to get on the E before my continuing ed class today and I wanted a light bite.  I was going to have a Wasa cracker and almond butter but then I remembered the Banana Zucchini bread in the fridge:

Ohmygodthisissofreakingood!!!!!!

Why do I not think of these things earlier!

Anywho, I’m going to kickboxing tonight so I need to get some pre-butt kicking fuel in me.  Off to make some Chocolate Protein Cake-In-A-Mug!

Peace out boy scout!  🙂

Leave a Reply

