Today I conquered a fear.

Let’s start off with this morning.  It was CHILLY!  Fall is on the way!  

         

I met Ivy for a 3.8 mile power walk/jog with the kiddies.  I figured out that we ran at least half of it today so we’re definitely improving.  Total calorie burn this morning = 400~  Sweeeet!

According to my HRM (<3) I have burned 2939 calories this week!  And it’s only Thursday! 

I still have a 4 mile walk planned for tomorrow (easy pace though) followed by some weight training and the 5K on Saturday.  I’m thinking I’ll kill a pound no problem! 

{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}

SOOOOO on to the reason for today’s blog.

I made rolls. 

“Ok…”

Not just any rolls.

“Yeah…” 

YEAST rolls. 

**Gasp!**

If you’ve read my previous blogs you may know that I have an inexplicable/irrational fear of making yeast breads.  Well today, after our walk, Ivy showed me the wonderful wheat sandwich bread she made and assured me I could, in fact, make bread. 

Well, Hell!  I’m giving it a shot!

I’ve had a recipe from Eat, Live, Run (www.eatliverun.com) bookmarked FOREVER so here goes:

Beginner’s Rolls

1c Wheat Flour, 1c AP Flour in the metal bowl,

1c Milk, 1pkg Yeast, 1 tbsp Splenda/Sugar for Baking, pinch salt in the glass bowl.

Let yeast mixture sit 10 min and get all bubbly-like and pour into flour.  Form into a ball, cover with a towel and let sit 30 min:

Before

After

Now toss in 1/2 c wheat flour and knead (not too much!).  Roll 8-10 little balls out of this a put them on a prepared baking sheet.  Cover with a towel and let sit another 30.

 

Bake at 425 for 10-15 minutes.

TA – FREAKIN’-DA! 

Ok, they aint pretty.  In fact they look like crap. 😉

They taste pretty bland too, but for my first try I’m pretty damn happy.  I’m inspired to try more now!

Stats on the rolls:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 10
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 124.2
  • Total Fat: 0.7 g
  • Cholesterol: 1.2 mg
  • Sodium: 26.5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 25.0 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 2.5 g
  • Protein: 4.7 g

 

%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)%>)

Next up today is a recipe from my Sparkfriend Lori Burk (HOLLA!). 

{{I tweaked her original recipe a tiny bit and used almonds for pistachios, panko for breadcrumbs and Grapeseed oil instead of EVOO}}

 

Almond Raspberry Chicken

16oz Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast

Raspberries, 1 pint 

Dijon Mustard, 1tbsp
Lemon juice (fresh from 1 whole lemon), 1 serving 
Panko, 0.75 cup
Grapeseed Oil, .5 tbsp
Almonds, 1/4c, ground
Parsley, dried, 1 tbsp

In a food processor or blender, process berries, mustard and lemon juice until smooth.
Transfer to a shallow pan
In another pan, combine bread crumbs, almond, parsley, pepper and salt, Dip chicken into the raspberry sauce, then into the almond mixture to coat. Heat olive oil in a skillet and saute chicken over medium heat, about 5 minutes per side.

Stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 4
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 254.9
  • Total Fat: 7.0 g
  • Cholesterol: 65.7 mg
  • Sodium: 133.3 mg
  • Total Carbs: 18.9 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 6.5 g
  • Protein: 29.8 g

Big props to Lori – this stuff was excellent!  I’m thinking it would be good on fish too!

Gotta dump the kids in the tub, night! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Today I conquered a fear.

  1. I already printed out the chicken recipe so can’t wait to try it! See, breads aren’t THAT hard! Plus, what’s the worst that could happen? You toss the batch and start over! 🙂

  2. Big props to Woman’s Health on this one! I just bought more raspberries – definitely making it again. You can also sub almond meal for the breadcrumbs – I did and it turned out great! Lower in carbs if you’re watching those.

Leave a Reply

