[Insert Title Here], cuz I got nuttin….

I was very worried that my legs were not going to hold up to a power walk/jog this morning, but I did pretty good!  The weather was brisk, which felt great, and we probably did 3.5 miles or so. 

Afterwards, we headed over to Whole Foods and Trader Joes for a couple of things.  Among the purchases were:

Got plans for those babies!!

On the way home we decided to stop at a local farm to see the cows and get lunch for the kids.

Surprisingly, I did not get any pictures of the cows.  🙂

The kids passed out in the car on the way home, so I was able to make lunch for Officer M and myself un-interrupted!

The plan was Asian Lettuce Wraps – but I didn’t actually want the lettuce, so I threw it in a bowl:

You know my recipes by now – super simple!

1lb Extra Lean Ground Turkey

1 pkg Coleslaw Mix (or plain cabbage)

4 cloves Garlic

2 tbsp Sesame Oil

1/4 c Lower Sodium Soy Sauce

1 tsp Onion Powder

Green Onion (to taste)

2 tsp Ground Ginger (although fresh would probably be better!)

Garlic Chili Pepper Sauce (to taste)

Heat a saute pan and add 1tbs oil with 3 garlic cloves.  Cook until fragrant.  Add ground turkey.  While the turkey cooks add in 1 tsp ginger, garlic powder and some of the chili pepper sauce.  When the turkey is cooked through, transfer it to a bowl.  Put the pan back on the heat and add another tbsp of sesame oil and 1 garlic clove.  Toss in the coleslaw and let it soften up a bit.  Add in the soy sauce and mix well.  Add the turkey back in as well as the green onion and more chili sauce.  Let it cook over low heat for a few minutes to let the flavors meld.  Serves 4.

Calories 240.7
  Total Fat 8.7 g
      Saturated Fat 1.5 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 3.0 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 2.8 g
  Cholesterol 45.2 mg
  Sodium 785.0 mg
  Potassium 36.7 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
      Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
      Sugars 0.6 g
  Protein 27.5 g

 

I gotta dump the kiddies in the tub so I’ll post my Thanksgiving Lite dinner tomorrow. 

Nighty-Night!

Leave a Reply

