Happy First Day of Fall!

In case it hasn’t become completely obvious to you, I LOVE AUTUMN!  So the fact that it’s 80 degrees and humid outside kinda burns my biscuits!

I was supposed to be sitting in 8 hours of continuing ed today, but I got the time wrong and showed up 30 minutes late.  I got kicked out.  Can’t be more than 10 minutes late per the licensing commission.  Oops.

AAAANNNNYYYWAAAYYYY…

Yesterday was a SUPER fun day!  We spent the entire day at the Eastern States Exposition (aka the BIG E).  The kids spent the majority of the ride tickets on this race car ride:

As the car comes to the turn it literally WHIPS around.  The first time on it, they weren’t sure what the heck happened!  Hysterical!

We checked out all the vendors in the outside kiosks and paroused the Better Living Center (nothing really grabbed me this year).  We also stopped in to see the Budweiser Clydesdales and then the petting zoo:

 

Peyton talked Officer M into paying $2 to see the “Unicorn Cow”.  I hear it was a bit of a let down.

[insert imagination here]

As far as the food went, well, let’s just say I’m not the biggest fan of carnival food.

I’m sorry – this just crosses a line.

The kids had a hot dog, a waffle with some PB, Chocolate milk and ice cream at lunch.  I can live with that.  Officer M had a Gyro (he loves those) and I ate the banana and Pumpkin Protein bar I had brought with me.  Later in the day Officer M and I enjoyed something magical:

Just one more reason to LOVE autumn!

 Throughout the rest of the day I also had half a gyro (no sauce, extra veg), a couple of bites of Bugga’s soft serve, some teriyaki jerky and 3 sweet potato fries.  So basically a tiny bit of food for 1500 cals….Oh well.  The beer was worth every carb and calorie – YUMMMM!

Also, I figure the 7.5 hours of walking worked it off!

Oh and just because it’s cute:

Yoda Gourd.

__________________________________________________

Monday night I made Officer M a lightened up version of Philly Cheese Steaks.  I got the idea from www.mariahealth.blogspot.com  She has a ton of recipes that are Diabetic and Celiac friendly.

Anywho, I kinda just winged it with the ingredients I had on hand.

I had a 1lb pkg of beef stew meat (next time I will use a leaner cut).  Browned those up with a small pat of Smart Balance light and a sprinkle of Montreal steak seasoning.  Toward the end of the browning I cut up 1/2 a vidalia onion and threw the rings into the pan.  Once the meat was sufficiently cooked I put it all in a crock pot with 1 can of reduced sodium beef broth and a can of french onion soup (because I had one) and a good shake of the Montreal seasoning.  Now you could easily add mushrooms to this and in fact, you probably should, but Officer M hates fungus so I skipped that part.  Cook on low for 4-6 hours until the meat is nice and tender. 

At around the 4-5th hour I cut the tops off 2 large green peppers and put them in the crock pot too.  I flipped them around a few time in the next hour.  Once everything is cooked, I transferred the peppers to a baking dish and stuffed as much meat and onion as I could fit into each.  Sprinkled with a couple shakes of hot sauce and topped them off with a generous slice of provolone.  Bake at 400 until the cheese is melty and gooey.

I’m off to make invitations for Peyton’s birthday party.  Have a great first day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

