The storm ended up being a drizzle…

I really meant to cook all those things I blogged about yesterday but I had a bit of insomnia last night and today I’m dragging ass.

In spite of all my laziness, I did find this super cute video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMRBGtyQuXk&feature=player_embedded

Seriously – Best. Proposal. EVER.

Anyway, I did make the Lentil Soup, Sweet Potato Corn Cakes and Pizza Mac for Officer M and the kids so all was not lost.

Lentil Soup with Turkey Bacon

(base recipe from allrecipes.com)

1 c Lentils

1 c diced carrot

1 c diced celery

1 c diced onion

1 – 15 oz can diced tomatoes (I used Del Monte garlic & basil – no salt added)

32oz Vegetable Stock (I used Kitchen Basics)

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 slices Butterball Turkey Bacon, diced

Pepper, Oregano, Basil, Thyme and Bay leaves to taste

**Throw everything into a crock pot and simmer on high 4 hours and then another 4 on low.  Serve with a dollop of greek yogurt.  Easy peasy.

  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 226.2
  • Total Fat: 1.5 g
  • Cholesterol: 3.3 mg
  • Sodium: 558.7 mg
  • Total Carbs: 41.9 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 9.6 g
  • Protein: 11.4 g

Sweet Potato Corn Cakes

1c Whole Wheat Flour

1c Corn Meal

1.5 tsp baking powder

.5tsp baking soda

1/4c sweetener of choice (I used Stevia)

3/4 c milk

2 egg whites

1tbsp honey 

1/2 c mashed cooked sweet potato

**Mix your dry ingredients together.  Whisk the wet ingredients with the potatoes.  Slowly stir the dry into the wet and cook like a pancake.  Makes around 15 cakes.

I was hoping to sleep in a bit today seeing as it’s my rest day, but that did NOT happen.  I was up every hour from 3am on.  I finally just got up at 5:45.  The weather today is definitely not helping either – 60 degrees, wet and just plain yucky.  I’ve already had 4 cups o’Joe, took a brisk 30 min walk on the treadmill and tried to take a 10 minute power nap but Reese decided my head would make an excellent ramp for his monster truck so nope!   Oh well.

Tomorrow is going to be a busy day (running in the morning, trip to BJ’s, ballet class, kickboxing) so I’ll try to get to that zucchini Thursday. 

Have a Terrific Tuesday!  Ta-Ta!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

