Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

Today was the 5K for Farmland Race and we couldn’t have ORDERED better weather!  I started today with old faithful:  Pumpkin Protein Pancake!  I topped with PB made from 2 tbsp Trader Joe’s peanut flour and 9g of my vanilla protein powder.  Less the a quarter of the fat of regular peanut butter with a bunch of protein. 

 Ivy showed up right on time (I was running late!):

I think I was a lot less nervous this time around.  We got there in plenty of time to get our numbers and hit the potty (you know you’re a mom when it is forever referred to as ‘the potty’) and do a warm up jog.  We were mid-pack at the starting line, but ended up weaving through the crowd a bit in the beginning.  Ivy stayed with me for almost the first full mile and then hit her stride.  It was an up and back run so it was very easy to gauge distance.  Ivy finished ahead of me with a time of 25:10 (WHOOT!) and I finished a full minute better than my last race at 26:32.  Over all Ivy was 71 out of 221 and 5th in our age range.  I was 98th overall and 8th in our age range.  Not too shabby.

On to the chicken dinner!!

Last night I set my frozen chicken in a salt and garlic spice brine.  This morning I rinsed it down, patted it dry and seasoned it up:

I forgot to take a picture of the finished product because I was STAHVING!!!!  But it looked pretty much exactly like this:

And now it looks like this:

To make this SUPER easy Chicken/Turkey Brine:

4.5 lb chicken

3-4 tablespoons Kosher Salt

Enough Water to cover the chicken

Spices of your choosing (put in LOTS cause you’ll end up dumping it later)

If your chicken is frozen, let it sit overnight in a pot in the fridge.  If it’s fresh, it won’t need more than 4-6 hours.  This brine will suck the juices into the meat making it unbelievably tender and juicy.  Before putting it in the oven, rinse it, pat it dry and brush it with Olive or Grapeseed oil and rub on some more spice.  I don’t add any more salt.  Bake it at 350 degrees for 20 min per pound.  Remember to let it sit 10 minutes before cutting in!

Once the carcass is picked clean of all desirable meat; toss into a large pot a bunch of carrot, celery, onion and garlic.  Add the carcass, salt, pepper, 8 cups of water and let it simmer for a couple of hours.  Drain through a mesh colander.  Discard the veg and meat and you’ve got an easy stock.  Once it cools, I pour it into ice-cube trays and freeze them into little cubes.

That’s all I got for today.  I’m out!

🙂

One thought on “Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

  1. THAT CHICKEN looks amazing!
    God, I look like a goofball in that first picture.
    I’m so happy we were able to do the race and hit up Trader Joes and Whole Foods without kidlets in tow! Thanks for a great day!

Leave a Reply

