Squash Tuesday!

Looks like I’m on a gourd mission this week, huh?  

🙂 Keep reading…..

Today was supposed to be a rest day.  Up at 6:30 as usual, oat bran and coffee (mmmm…) off to the library for sing-along time, more bedtime books and some movies and then to Mom’s so the kids can play. 

By the time we got home it was 1-ish and Reese was rubbing his eyes.  I may have been too. 

Lunch was worth waiting for:

 

Olivia’s Baby greens, a chopped up Morningstar Farms Tomato Basil Pizza veggie burger, chick peas, grilled balsamic vegetables and a sprinkle of Sargento Reduced Fat 4-cheese Italian blend.  My salads get interesting when I have leftovers to use up…..

The BFF called to ask if I wanted to do a power walk today.  I have a hard time saying no to exercise, especially when it’s with Jess cause we don’t get to see each other as often anymore.  

I’m a bit tired from the last few days but I really like this particular route because of this:

THE BURNER HILL!!!  Dum-Dum-Duuuuuum!

In order to push the 100 or so pounds of toddlers and stroller up this thing I have to hunch forward so the handle of the stroller is even with the top of my head!  There was no way I was going to be able to push my stroller up it today so Jess pushed the toddlers up and I took the twins:

Burn, Baby, Burn!!!!!

Jess basically pulverized the hill.  Look at her.  Didn’t even break a sweat:

By the time dinner rolled around I was FAMISHED!  I saw a recipe for a stuffed acorn squash recently on Red Head Recipes and felt it definitely needed to be made.

Apple & Maple Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

Serves 2

1 Acorn Squash

1 tbsp + 1 tbsp Smart Balance Light

1 200-300g Apple

2 Links Maple Sausage (I used Trader Joe’s fully cooked kind to cut down time)

2 tbsp chopped walnuts

Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Salt to taste

Preheat your oven to 350.  Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds.  Brush the insides with the first tbsp of ‘butter’ and bake for 50-ish minutes until soft.  Around the 40 minute mark, dice your apple up and saute with the other tbsp of butter (adding water if necessary).  When they’re just about the softness you desire, chop the sausage up and toss it in too.   Add in your spices.  Stuff the filling into your squash halves, top with walnuts and it should look something like this:

Jealous?  I would be too! 😉

Nite!

5 thoughts on “Squash Tuesday!

  1. This looks like a delicious recipe, and I might have to make it with some quinoa as you suggested.I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.if you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the acorn squash widget at the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

