Where ya been? Oh, around…

I’m a big believer in not blogging if I have nothing interesting to say.  Blogging for blogging’s sake seems to be a colossal waste of time.  Unfortunately, once the cold weather sets in, our daily activities include more indoor time and I’m sure you really don’t need the play-by-play of our latest game of Candy Land!  (Peyton usually kicks my ass at this game, FYI)

So the workouts have been about the same, but I’ve been mixing them up more than normal.  I realized the other day that I could only get 4-5 pull-ups (NOT consecutive) before muscle failure, so my goal is to get back up to 20 before the new year.  Same for the push ups – as they’ve been sucking also.  One bright spot though is that running 5 miles has become a LOT easier!  I’m trying to work my way up to a 10K for spring.  I’d really like a decent time for my first.

I have been training half-assed for the Hot Chocolate 5k coming up in December.  This route has multiple hills.  Big inclines.  I think I’m in trouble.  Ivy is running it with me, so I’m thinking maybe I could tether myself to her and she could pull me up, sled-dog style? 

 No? 

Ok, ok, I’ll do it myself!

 ☺

As for the cooking ~

I’ve been making a lot of our favorites: soups, chicken, squash, pasta.  Nothing special.  Although yesterday I literally threw together lunch that turned out pretty darn good.  Officer M even ate it!  No pic for you, it wasn’t very pretty. 

Start with a bag of Shiritaki tofu noodles, spaghetti or fettuccine style:

Rinse them well because they have a slight fishy odor right out of the bag.  Use a big mesh colander if you have one.

Next toss into the colander:

1 can Artichoke hearts

1 can Asparagus pieces

1 can Bean Sprouts

3 oz Fire Roasted Red Peppers

2 cans Chicken Breast

Rinse all of this very well to remove a lot of the sodium.  Pour into a big bowl and season with whatever ya got – I used McCormick Salt-Free Garlic and Herb spices. 

Give it a good toss and split it into 2 portions.  Top with a generous tablespoon of fat-free Balsamic Vinaigrette.

HUGE portion, AWESOME stats:

Cals – 262;   Fat – 3;   Carbs – 17;   Fiber – 7;   Protein – 23

This is totally adaptable to whatever you got on hand too.  I threw in some leftover roasted zucchini.  You could add peppers, onion, mushrooms, broccoli….you get the idea.  This will be my go-to meal when I know I’ll be eating a higher cal meal that day.

Off to start my day, have a Wacky Wednesday!

😉

2 thoughts on “Where ya been? Oh, around…

  1. Hi friend! So I already screwed up the subscription part on my blog, and as soon as I figure that part out, I’ll add my blogroll and then add mommycooks!
    Anyways, I love the shirataki noodles, and need to invest in a mesh colander bad! As for your fitness…you are rockin it!

Leave a Reply

