Yeah. We’re THOSE people.

So I decorated the day before Thanksgiving.  Sue me.

Peyton had been asking since last week to put up the tree.  Who am I to squash her Christmas spirit? 😉

Speaking of SQUASH (like the seguay?)…….

While decorating for Christmas, I was pondering what to do with all of our lovely gourds from Thankshallowgiving.  I had 2 sugar pumpkins in the bunch so I did some recipe searches and decided to make Pumpkin Casserole!   The rest went with my dad out to the shooting range.  I think he had fun.  Who doesn’t love an exploding pumpkin?

Back to the casserole.  So I had 2 sugar pumpkins, BUT….Peyton had decorated one for Halloween and refused to let me cook it.  After a while of coaxing, it did seem morbid, I mean- he had a face ☺! – so I let her keep it.  To fill in for that pumpkin I decided to use an acorn squash.  PERFECT!! 

So without further ado – Pumpkin/Squash Casserole

(original recipe adapted [and then hacked to pieces] from allrecipes.com) 

1 Sugar Pumpkin

1 Acorn Squash

Butter cooking spray

Cinnamon

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Cut the gourds in half and scrape out the seeds.  Place on a baking sheet, spray with sooking spray and sprinkle cinnamon.  They’ll need at least an hour to get nice and soft.  Once they’re done, let them cool completely and then peel the skins away:

Use an immersion blender to puree it. 

You’ll need 2 cups of this for the recipe.  I have enough left over for protien bars!!

Ok, next you’ll need:

4 egg whites

1/2c Evaporated Milk – Skim

1 c Wheat Bran (Bob’s Red Mill)

1/2c Sweetener (Splenda)

2tbsp Buttery Spread – melted (Smart Balance Light)

1/2tsp Baking Powder

1/8 tsp Baking Soda

1tsp Cinnamon

Mix everthing into the puree and pour it into a prepared casserole dish. 

 Bake this bad boy for 1 hour at 350. 

Slice into 6 servings:

IT WAS LIKE HAVING PIE FOR DINNER!  NO LIE!  MMMMmmmmmm…………

Now if you want something more savory you could reduce the sugar and add in curry powder.  Or you could add more sugar and pumpkin pie spice for a sweet dessert dish. 

Stats~ 6 servings:

112 cals  /  2 fat  /  22 carb  /  9 protein

And now for a quick survey:  Real tree or fake?

2 thoughts on “Yeah. We’re THOSE people.

Leave a Reply

