Sunday Dinner.

I spent a good 3 hours in the kitchen yesterday.  I offered to make dinner for my Dad and my sister and her family.

First off I made some Turkey Goulash.  I had taken out some ground turkey and needed to cook it asap.  This will probably be lunch for me for a few days.

(adapted from Meals & Moves)

    Onions, raw, 1 cup, chopped 
    Summer Squash, 1 cup, sliced 
    Jennie-O  Lean Ground Turkey  93/7, uncooked, 20 oz 
    Hunt’s Chunky Vegetable Spaghetti Sauce, 3 cups
    Zucchini, 1.25 cup, sliced
    Garlic, 3 cloves
    Italian Spices

Saute the onions and garlic with cooking spray and then throw in the rest of the veggies until soft.  Remove veg from the pan and toss in the turkey and spices.  Cook until no longer pink.  Drain the fat.  Put everything back in the pan and add the sauce.  Simmer until warm.  Serve over pasta, rice, Shirataki noodles, potatoes (whatever you like!) or eat plain!  Best part of this recipe is that it works with whatever ya got on hand.  Next time I’ll throw in some beans.

  • Servings Per Recipe: 5
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 210.7
  • Total Fat: 8.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 251.1 mg
  • Total Carbs: 9.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 2.4 g
  • Protein: 22.6 g 
     

For Sunday Dinner, I kept it simple.

Minestrone Soup

    Grapeseed Oil, 1 tsp
    Carrots, raw, 1 cup, chopped
    Celery, raw, 1 cup, diced 
    3 Cloves Garlic 
    Onions, raw, 1 cup, chopped
    Zucchini, 1 cup, sliced
    Summer Squash, 1 cup, sliced
    Tomato Paste, 0.13 cup 
    Water, tap, 2 cup 
    Del Monte Diced Tomatoes,  1 can
    Stew Leonard’s Mild Italian Chicken Sausage, 1 pack (5 links)
    Chicken Broth (Light and Low Sodium), 4 cup
    Cannelinni Beans, 1 can drained
    Optional – Wacky Mac veggie spirals, 4oz dry

Toss onion, garlic, carrot, celery and the oil in a large pot and sautee until fragrant (5 min).  Add in the tomato paste and chicken sausage for a another 4-5 minutes.  Pour in the stock, water and canned tomatos.  Let simmer for 45min to an hour.  Toss in the pasta, squash, zucchini and beans and simmer another 30-45 minutes until pasta is cooked and veggies are soft.  If you like,  add in 2 cups of baby spinach just before serving for a nutritional boost.  Serve with grated parmesan or asiago.

  • Servings Per Recipe: 8 VERY large bowls!
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 191.3
  • Total Fat: 4.1 g
  • Cholesterol: 28.6 mg
  • Sodium: 703.1 mg
  • Total Carbs: 27.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 4.3 g
  • Protein: 13.3 g

 

 Baked Ziti – from Allrecipes.com

••••••••••••••••••••••

On the fitness front, I’ve re-aquainted myself with my old friend DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness).  P90X Chest & Back kicked my butt yesterday.  Just proves that I have not been lifting hard/heavy enough the last few months. 

◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘

You know, ever since I took down the Christmas decorations, the living room seems so…….vanilla.  Today I picked up a few color samples to try out.  I’d like to paint the fireplace wall and opposing wall in an accent color.  Here are the 3 I’ve picked out so far:

Officer M and I vetoed the middle color right away – too dark.  He’s leaning to the right, I’m leaning to the left.  In the picture they look exactly the same.

I think I may need to get more samples…..

3 thoughts on “Sunday Dinner.

  1. The soup looks awesome! I love the middle color, you’re right a little dark, but it’s really pretty! What color did you go with?

Leave a Reply

