Oh Spackle.

I don’t really mind painting.  Big rooms are definately not as fun as small projects (I’m an instant gratification kinda girl), but the prep work is what I really despise.  Taping, splackle, sanding – you get my drift.

So I’ve been up to my eyeballs in projects lately.  Things I’ve been meaning to get to, but haven’t had the time.  Now that it’s winter (and I’m no longer working) I’ve got a butt load of time. 

Sorry Jess, didn’t mean to rub that in!

Here’s a sneak peak at some of the work in progress:

We Have some really cheap and ugly looking trim in this house that has been bothering Officer M since day 1.  Seeing as I’m going to paint accent walls. I thought this would be a good time to start painting the trim too.

Our bedroom is, by far,  the most neglected room in the house.  I want to paint it a nice seafoam gray/green.  The room had this awful chair rail when we moved in.  We were short on time and resources then, so we went with it.  Glad to see if gone!!

Aw Yeah.  I jigsaw. 

This is something I’m working on for another post.  You’ll get to see it when I’m finished….

All of this stuff is the reason I’ve been slacking on the cooking lately (much to Officer M’s disappointment).  I did however find a few minutes to try this recipe that I jotted down 2 weeks ago.  I cannot, for the life of me, remember where I saw this.  I just remember the original version had kale, a LOT more butter and heavy cream…. 

Creamed Spinach and Mushrooms

10 oz package Mushrooms

10 oz Spinach

1/3 c Onion

3 Cloves Garlic

1 Tbsp Smart Balance Light

1 tsp Grapeseed Oil

1 tsp nutmeg

Salt & Pepper to taste (no salt for me)

1/3-1/2c Fat Free Evaporated Milk

1 oz Cream Cheese – 1/3 less fat

Sprinkle of Parmesean Cheese

In a large saute pan melt the buttery spread in the oil.  Add in sliced mushrooms and cook 10 minutes until soft.  Add in the onion, garlic, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  When the onion is soft, add in the spinach and evaporated milk (I used a full 1/2 c and it was a bit wet at the end so guage it as you go).  When the spinach is soft, melt in the cream cheese.  Top with a sprinkle of parmesan.

  • Servings Per Recipe: 2
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 206.2
  • Total Fat: 9.1 g
  • Cholesterol: 12.6 mg
  • Sodium: 289.9 mg
  • Total Carbs: 21.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 5.3 g
  • Protein: 14.4 g

I served this over some chicken breast I cooked up yesterday.  Yum!  Officer M went out for lunch cuz he hates fungus.  His loss!!

The kids are aother reason I’ve been slacking with the cooking.  They are being more picky than usual lately and I’m tired of wasting food.  They will always eat cookies though!

We went to my sister Heather’s house to have a play date with her boy, Mason.  Cookie decorating ensued.

My older sister, Jen, and my nephew, Austin, showed up too!  Jen and I compared cameras.  Mine’s better 😛

You are now fully updated with the goings-on of my life.  Feel better? 😉

Anywho, I have to get some more painting done before kickboxing tonite.  I would really like to get the living room finished before the weekend! 

Later Gaters!

7 thoughts on “Oh Spackle.

  1. Did u really say your camera was better? While it is a great camera…..the pics speak for themselves! The pic of u is very well lit and not at all blurry 🙂 and just as side note….I am with my brother in law about the fungus!

Leave a Reply

