To summarize: Snow, Eggs, Seeds & Paint.

Whasshakin?

I’m sure you’ve noticed the slight change of direction this blog has taken over the last couple of months.  I hope you don’t mind.  Being trapped in the house makes for boring workouts.  Also, it forces me to actually look at the house.  The more I look, the more I want to change (read: fix).

And, having borderline OCD, when I start something – like spring cleaning or a craft project – it tends to consume me.

So today it is snowing.  Again.

The kids haven’t really been able to enjoy the snow so much because of lingering colds, but today everyone seems good…fingers crossed. 

Oh, just so you know, Officer M decided on White Bean Chicken Chili the other day.  While that was simmering away, I made  Egg, Spinach & Cheese Bake.  Easy Peasy.

8 egg whites

1/2 c milk (I used 1%)

10 oz pkg frozen Spinach (thaw and drain)

1/2 c Sargento Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Italian Blend (or Cheddar)

Pepper

Onion Powder (real onion would be better)

Garlic Powder

Yeah, so mix everything together, pour into a prepared 8×8 pan and bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.   Bacon bits would rock this.  Ahhh, hindesight.

Stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 4  (yeah.  more like 2 for me!) 
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 103.1
  • Total Fat: 2.8 g
  • Cholesterol: 6.5 mg
  • Sodium: 280.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 4.5 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.5 g
  • Protein: 15.9 g

We also made the bird seed feeders:

Here’s what we used:

3/4c Ap Flour

1/2c Water

1/4c Light Corn Syrup

Mix these well. 

Then we added in whatever we had on hand, which was:

Flax Seed

Walnuts & Almonds (ground up a bit)

Raisins

Oats

Sorry no measurements on those.  Just keep adding until you get a pretty dry mixture. 

Spray a baking sheet and cookie cutters with non-stick spray and stuff in the mixture:

Using a straw, poke a hole through the feeder so you can add a string:

Now if you are a patient person (which I am NOT), you can leave these out to dry overnight.  I baked them at 170 degrees for 1.5 hours, flipping them once.  If you bake them, make sure to remove your cutters and straws first!  No-I don’t think you are stupid, but we all have those days 😉

Fun stuff.  We pakaged up a couple as gifts and hung one out on the deck.  Which the dog promptly ate.  I’m not sure what all that flax is gonna do to her……

In between the bird seed and cooking I managed to finish painting the bedroom!!  Yay!!  Ugly chailrail GONE!  Soothing grayish-blue color IN!!

Here is my dilemma though.

I was gonna paint the armoir and headboard Antique White, but the more I look at the wood next to the new paint, the more unsure I am:

(Sorry-had to use the flash, all the lamps were unplugged)

Here’s the headboard again:

So last night I convinced Officer M we needed to bite the bullet and get new dressers.  I picked out these from Raymour and Flanigan:

These are done in a Cherry Finish.

So I’m thinking if we get these new dressers, I will paint the headboard and armoir. 

Taking votes here, what do you think?  Seriously, I need some input!!

OK.  Gotta get off my rear and get my P90X on.  Later!

5 thoughts on “To summarize: Snow, Eggs, Seeds & Paint.

  1. I think keeping the caramel color of the wood provides a nice contrast. The colors all compliment each other and will bring out the pattern in the fabric. The new dressers (which I love) seem to be in the same colorway of the armoir and headboard, too. Maybe just keep all the wood? The wall color is gorge!

  2. so funny–we need to buy a new dresser/armoire…i am almost 40 and the husband is 40 and we still have his dressers from his early 20’s–how bad is that?…i want to feel like a grown-up finally….and i love what you picked–so i am going to go check it out…totally understand the wood vs wood thing–i have that problem in my family room and kitchen 3 really different kinds of wood..

Leave a Reply

