The Big Reveal!

I am finally finished with the Secret Project!  It took about 3 weeks to do and I did 99% of it myself (some elbow grease provided by Officer M – thanks babe)!!

Okay, so 3-ish weeks ago I bought this beauty of Craigslist:

Yes.  It is a TV stand from 1997.

Yes.  I paid good money for it ($20).

Yes, I’m totally serious.

But I had a vision.  And for less than $100, I made it into this:

I’ll let you soak in the awesome-ness…..

First I sanded the crap out of the whole thing.  Then, I painted this bad boy with 2 coats of primer and one coat of a high-gloss latex paint.  This took the most amount of time.

I went to Home Depot to have them cut me the MDF I needed to make a back panel, fridge door and oven door.  This was the biggest expense at almost $20.  While I was there I also grabbed some hinges ($15). 

I also visited the plumbing department where a very nice man donated the faucet to my cause (it was missing all it’s functional inerds).  This thing is nicer than MY kitchen faucet!

Officer M lended some muscle here by drilling the holes for the faucet to sink into (we used a door lock installation kit) and a larger starting hole for the sink.  I finished the holes with a jigsaw.  The faucet sits in there pretty tight.  I used a bowl we had and it sits in there without any glue, just in case water becomes invovled in the play process.  The ‘window’ is a blown up picture of my back yard.  My Dad suggested I take pictures of every season, which I am totally planning on!  The curtain was leftover fabric from Christmas hot glued onto the frame.

Now the stove is made up of an old cutting board and some appliance knobs ($2).  The buners are tops from cottage cheese and yogurt containers spray-painted silver and the clock in from a whipped cream container.

One more picture:

Next the fridge:

My Dad grabbed the handles for all the doors for me at Ocean State Job Lot.  They were bronze so I had to spray them silver.  The sheet metal was $10 at Home Depot and I had to grab a piece of trim to cover the sharp edges ($4).  Magnets from Joanne Fabrics ($.59).

I re-used the dishwasher door (on the left) by just adding hinges at the bottom so it pulls down.  The oven door was made with MDF and the window was made from some plastic from a container I was throwing away.  The cabinet on the right just got a new handle.

Inside storage: 

And for a touch of cuteness, a chalkboard and their aprons:

Officer M thought I was nuts for wanting to bring in this huge piece of furniture, but it actually holds a lot of toys and I got rid of the cheap bin towers.

Well, there you have it.  It’s by no means perfect, but the rugrats love it.  I do too 😉

10 thoughts on “The Big Reveal!

  1. Oh.My.GAWD!!!! Coolest play kitchen ever! One of the first things I noticed was the blown up photo of your back yard, and I thought to myself, “If I know Tonya, I’ll bet she’s going to change that photo with the seasons” lol
    I love how the burners have a lip so the pans will stay put better. I love the whole thing, actually, and I am so impressed! You rock 🙂

    • Tonya! You never cease to amaze me! I’m so proud to be your BFF! You are so talented and I am so jealous. Your project is beautiful! I know you worked so hard on it and it shows:) I love everything about it!

  2. You always have the best projects! I am always jealous you have the time and space to do such things!!! I love this cabinet 🙂
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

