Does anyone else ♥ cake as much as I do?

It’s really, really early.  Miss P wanted Cheerios at 4:17am.  *yawn*

So I forgot to show you the fantastical cupcakes from Thursday’s playdate with Miss Ivy’s Ladies:

I have a problem with cake.  Have you seen that Sex and the City Episode where Miranda makes a cake mix and keeps going into the kitchen and picking at it, then finally ends up throwing it in the trash only to pick at it from the trashcan anyway?  Yeah.  I haven’t eaten trash cake, but don’t put it past me.  I ♥ cake.

Here’s my go to chocolate cake recipe.  It’s not overly sweet which balances out the frosting really well.  Trust me, once you use this, boxed mixes just won’t cut it anymore! 

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Baking Soda, 3/4 tsp
Baking Powder, 1 tsp
Sugar, 1/2 cup
Mayonnaise, Hellman’s Light, 3/4c
Hershey’s special dark cocoa powder, 1/3 cup
Water, tap, 3/4 cup
Vanilla Extract, 3/4 tsp
King Arthur Flour – Whole Wheat, 1.5 cup

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees 
  • Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa, and sugar into a large bowl. Stir in mayonnaise. Gradually add water and vanilla and blend until smooth. Scoop batter into 12 cupcake wrappers.
  • Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 15-ish minutes
  • [**If you want to make a full cake with this recipe, just double the ingredients, pour into 2 9-inch cake pans and bake them at 350 for 30 minutes.]

    • Servings Per Recipe: 12
    • Amount Per Serving
    • Calories: 125.9
    • Total Fat: 3.8 g
    • Cholesterol: 4.0 mg
    • Sodium: 229.1 mg
    • Total Carbs: 20.4 g
    • Dietary Fiber: 2.4 g
    • Protein: 2.4 g

    I also finished a little project I was working on for Bugga’s room.

    I traced a car onto some leftover MDF and cut it out with a jigsaw.  After it was painted a nice fire-engine red I painted the windshield with Chalkboard paint.  The headlights are painted with yellow acrylic paint and covered in epoxy bubble stickers.  The grill is some spray-painted corrugated cardboard and the tires are a rubber mat I cut up.  Total cost = $6.

    Today’s agenda includes cardio (by way of Insanity I think) AND some strength training.  I hope I can muscle through it (pun intended) cuz I am draggin’ ass.  Hope your Saturday shapes up to be a good one!

    2 thoughts on “Does anyone else ♥ cake as much as I do?

    Leave a Reply

    