Random Thursday-ness.

Look what I got yesterday!

My 8 year old Hamilton Beach started smoking the other day.  I would’ve LOVED a Vitamix, but I don’t really have $499 for a blender right now…This one did a pretty good job with my Protein Ice Cream so I’m happy 🙂  <–  See?  Happy.

My dad came over for dinner last night and I made some meatloaf. Yummy Italian Turkey Roll!!

Lazy picture.  Again.  Sorry!

Ground Turkey (Jennie-O Turkey 93/7), 20 oz

Onions, raw, .5 cup, chopped

Poultry seasoning – to taste

Garlic powder- to taste

Egg, fresh, 1 medium whole, 1 egg white 

Stewed Tomatoes, canned, w/ onions, celery, green pepper, 1/2 cup

Barilla – Marinara Sauce, 1/2 cup

Spinach, fresh, 1 cup

Sargento Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Italian – 2 oz

Original Quaker Oats Quick cooking oats, 3/4 cup

Colonna Imported Parmesan Grated Cheese, 2 tbsp

Preheat your oven to 375.  In a big bowl add your diced onion, turkey, seasonings, oats, eggs and canned tomatoes.  Mix it together with your hands. Lay out a long sheet of wax paper and dump the mixture:

Using a spatula sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, spread it out to an approximate 8″x11″:

Layer on the spinach and mozzarella.  I didn’t have any roasted red peppers this time, but that would’ve been good here:

Now grab one side of the wax paper and start rolling:

You want to make sure to get this all done while the meat is cold so it doesn’t fall apart.  Keep rolling:

Now you should have a little football:

Toss this bad boy in the oven.  At the 30 minute mark cover it with 1/2 c spaghetti sauce and parmesan cheese and pop it back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes.

I like this method because it distributes the filling better than the traditional way.  And it looks cool when you cut into it!

Stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 8
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 187.6
  • Total Fat: 8.0 g
  • Cholesterol: 77.1 mg
  • Sodium: 242.9 mg
  • Total Carbs: 8.4 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.7 g
  • Protein: 17.9 g

 

I also had a little time yesterday after my P90X Legs & Back to do some painting.  You know those little squishy window clingy thingys (that’s their real name right?) –

Well Miss P was playing with them on the front door when inspiration struck!  Ok that’s a tad dramatic, but I did have an idea:

Cute, no?

I stuck a few up in the pattern I liked, traced ’em and hand painted them with the Benjamin Moore Ashley Grey color that I ♥ so much.

I think I might stencil some wording on there too.  Maybe “Come Again” or “Friends Welcome” or “What? Do you live in a Barn, Shut the Door”….I’ll have to ponder that some.

Ok, I have to stop procrastinating and get my INSANITY on.  Peace Out!

Leave a Reply

