Mommy want a cracker?

Yes please.

I LOVE Wheat Thin crackers but I don’t keep them in the house because I have ZERO control over myself with them.  I suppose that’s why they’re called CRACK-ers. 

Here are the stats on regular wheat thins:

 

 Calories: 150, Total Fat: 6g, Carbs: 21g, Protein: 2g 

 Take note of the serving size here.  9 grams.  That’s about 1/3 of an ounce or about 16 crackers.

 

 And the reduced fat version:

 

 Calories: 130, Total Fat: 3.5g, Carbs: 22g, Protein: 2g

Again, 16 crackers.

So Maria over at Maria’s Nutritional Consulting (www.mariahealth.blogspot.com  – love this site!) had this solution for us cracker lovers.  There are so many good things to say about this recipe!  It was simple to make, took only a few minutes to prepare, cost about the same as a box of Wheat Thins, tasted awesome, can be modified for different flavors, low fat, low calorie, LOW CARB-HIGH FIBER!

You will need 1 package Joseph’s Lavash Wraps:

Lay out all 4 wraps on a cutting board:

Cut with a pizza cutter.  I cut it 8×8 – so 64 crackers per lavash:

The hardest part of this recipe was separating the crackers and laying them out onto cookie sheets (make sure to spray the pans with some cooking spray – canola or olive oil).  I got them all laid out before the oven was pre-heated.

Once they’re laid out on the cookie sheets spray with the cooking spray and season them.  I used just a little sea salt.  Next time, to give them that Wheat Thin sweetness, I’ll sprinkle on a little bit of Stevia.

Bake em’.  Maria says to do it at 325 for 12 minutes.  I did mine at 400 degrees for 7 minutes because for some reason I though that was the  temp I read.  It worked, but watch them closely so they don’t burn!

Once cooled, separate into snack size baggies.  I did 6 servings which gave me about 40 crackers per serving!

Stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 67.3
  • Total Fat: 2.8 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 370.0 mg
  • Total Carbs: 9.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 4.0 g
  • Protein: 6.7 g

Love these babies.  I already ate 1/2 of them…..

5 thoughts on “Mommy want a cracker?

  1. I am actually gonna try these….got some popcorn flavor sprinkle stuff I can put on. 🙂 if they don’t sell the wraps down here I might ask u to grab me some!

Leave a Reply

