Good Stuff.

When I was in high school and didn’t know a THING about nutrition (I thought a chicken caesar salad qualified as diet food), my favorite meal was the fettucine alfredo at Olive Garden.   As I’ve gotten older and my tastes have matured a bit, I have to admit – I still freakin love it!  What?!  You want me to lie?   That shit is the bomb! 

But, alas, I can not, will not and have not eaten this creamy dish of salty, cheesy goodness since high school.  I honestly don’t think my 30-something body could handle it!  Check out the stats (from the OG website):

  1220 Cals / 75 Fat / 47 Sat. Fat / 1350 Sodium / 99 Carbs

Which brings me to a fantastic, healthy version from Laurie at Red Head Recipes – check her out on the blogroll.

My dish included Shiritaki noodles, mushrooms, grilled red pepper, red onion, and spinach.  I’ll be very honest here.  This is NOT alfredo, but as a healthy substitute it KICKS ASS!

  • Milk, 1%, 0.25 cup
  • Cauliflower, frozen, cooked, 1 cup
  • Garlic, 1 tsp 
  • Mushrooms, fresh, 0.50 cup, pieces or slices
  • Onions, raw, 1 tbsp chopped 
  • Spinach, fresh, 0.50 cup
  • Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss Original Cheese (Serving = 1 wedge)
  • Shiritaki Noodles, 8 oz – rinsed and drained 
  • *Pepper, Roasted Red, Mt. Olive (1/4 pepper = 30g)

Microwave the cauliflower (if you have a magic bullet – do it right in the cup).  Toss in the Laughing Cow cheese wedge, garlic (S&P Optional) and blend adding milk to thin it out as you go. 

 Set aside.  In a small pan coated with cooking spray, saute the onion and mushrooms until soft.  Toss in the red pepper and spinach until wilted.  Finally throw the noodles in the pan and heat through.  Plate the noodles and veg and top with the cauliflower ‘alfredo’.

Stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 1
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 160.8
  • Total Fat: 4.2 g
  • Cholesterol: 13.1 mg
  • Sodium: 393.3 mg
  • Total Carbs: 19.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 7.9 g
  • Protein: 10.3 g

This stuff is fantastic!  Seriously, give it a try!!

In other news……guess what I did last night….

It.

Was.

AWESOME!

I thought it would be fun, but that was insane!  The most fun 60 minutes of exercise I’ve ever done!  And to top it off I burned 400 calories!  That was a big shocker!  I can’t wait to go again – Big Thanks to the BFF for taking me! 

Oh! One last thing……

Happy Birthday to (BFF’s son) Parker:

Cutie ♥

Have a happy hump day folks!!  I’m out!

One thought on “Good Stuff.

Leave a Reply

