Oh nuts, no nuts!

Did I tell you the BFF and I gave up nuts and nut butters for Lent?

Yes? No?  Well whatever, we did.  It’s become a tradition for us.  We actually almost look forward to it – ALMOST.  It’s like 40 days of detox!

Because of this I find myself looking for suitable substitutes.  My biggest issue is probably granola.  I have a specific brand that I ♥

But, alas, it has almonds.  😦

So I’ve been scouring the supermarkets looking for something that meets my 3 criteria:

#1.  No nuts.

#2.  As few ingredients as possible

#3.  Price – I refuse to pay $8 for 12oz of granola!

Low fat/calorie is a bonus.

This has been difficult to find.  Mostly because of #3.  I’m very cheap cost conscious.  So I sucked it up and made my own:

    Cinnamon, ground, 1 tsp 
    Canola Oil, 1 tbsp 
    Applesauce, unsweetened, 2 tbsp 
    Maple Grove Farm Maple Syrup (sugar free), 0.33 cup
    Optimum Nutrition Whey, 100% Gold Standard, Vanilla Ice Cream, 2 scoops
    Quaker Oats – Quick 1 Minute – Dry, 3 cup
    Bob’s Red Mill Flax Seed, 2 tbsp (ground)
    Vanilla Extract, 2 tsp

Preheat your oven to 275 degrees.  Mix all your dry ingredients together and then add in the wet.  If you are using quick oats the mixture will clump.  If you choose to use old-fashioned oats it shouldn’t clump at all.  Bake low and slow for 45 minutes, stirring it every 15-20 minutes until it gets nice and crunchy!

  • Servings Per Recipe: 12
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 121.1
  • Total Fat: 3.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 5.0 mg
  • Sodium: 22.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 16.4 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 2.6 g
  • Protien 7g

Kicks bootay on top of yogurt!!

On todays agenda? 

P90X and Insanity fit tests!  Yup it’s been 3 months since I started my hybrid program – I can’t wait to see the results!  Also, gotta take the guppies to the pool.  Remember, I’m cheap cost conscious.  Dolla Dolla bills ya’ll.  Holla!

Have a super Sunday!

One thought on “Oh nuts, no nuts!

Leave a Reply

