Sunday Funday

Happy Sunday, hope you’re all enjoying your day!

I started off the day with some HIIT on the treadmill followed by abs and burpees! – just for the hell of it.  I was sooooo not in the mood to workout this morning and I’m kinda sore from kickboxing yesterday (had a couple of rounds with the BFF’s hubby – 1 round with him= 4 rounds with anybody else!) So I’m really glad I sucked it up and did it!

Sargent M and I also took the kids swimming at the Y this morning and we’ve been chillin’ around the house for the most part since.   With the exception of laundry, it’s whites day.  I hate whites.  I think we may have discussed this before.

So while at a play date with the kids last week, my friend Karla pulls out some snacks.  One in particular was a delicious bowl of black beans, corn, tomato and onion.  Basically Cowboy Caviar.  I’ve seen this recipe a lot, but it never struck me to make it because it seemed like kind of a…. bland?….uninspired?….broing?…..dish.

Christ on a bicycle!  Was I wrong!!

So she listed the exact ingredients she used (I tweaked it a tiny bit) and dinner was born!

Cowboy Caviar

1 15oz  can low sodium Black Beans

1 box frozen corn (thawed)

1/4-1/2c diced red onion

1 15oz can southwest style diced tomatoes

1/3 c light salad dressing ( I used Kraft House Italian)

Cilantro to taste

Mix it all up in a bowl and let it sit a few hours to overnight.  THAT’S IT!  Serve it with crackers, pita chips, tortilla chips, or make it a meal and throw in some chicken or shrimp.  The best part of this recipe is that you CANNOT fudge it up*.  You can use pretty much any flavor tomatoes and dressing or switch up the beans – whatever you want.

I get sooo excited when good food is simple.  Yeah, the little things really get me worked up.  I need to get out more……shut up.  Here’s the stats:

  • Servings Per Recipe: 8
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 99.7
  • Total Fat: 1.5 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 406.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 18.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 4.8 g
  • Protein: 4.4 g

*If you do happen to fudge it up, please let me know how you managed to do it so I can laugh at you!  (just kidding, I don’t judge.)

Off to get the babes fed and ready for bed early because…..WALKING DEAD is on tonight!  Screw the Oscars, zombies are funner.

Leave a Reply

