Squashing Saturday

Happy Saturday, didja do anything good today?  Mhm, mhm, sounds fun.  Me?  Oh, the usual.  Got my workout in this morning, did some cleaning, trip to Costco, did some cookin’…….

Let me start with the workout though.  I have definitely been slacking on the strength training these last 2 months.  I haven’t even been in the gym since probably the beginning of the year (in my defense though, I’ve been waiting for all those New Year’s Resolution-ers to get the F out!).  What I have been doing is a lot of Zumba, Insanity, Kickboxing, and running.  Don’t get me wrong, I have been doing some ST, just not like I should be.  Today I put in my P90X Chest, Shoulders and Tris video and squashed it!  I better get some good pain tomorrow!

As for my cooking, well I was pa-rousing around Pinterest a little (okay, A LOT.  Is anybody else addicted to this damn website!?!?!) and saw a Spaghetti Squash casserole.  I didn’t even bother looking at the recipe, I figured I’d make up my own.

This is what I came up with:

3 cups cooked Spaghetti Squash

1/2 (10oz) pkg Frozen Spinach – thawed & squeezed

1/4c Onion

1/2 (8oz) pkg Sliced Mushrooms

3-4 cloves Garlic

4 pieces Sund-Dried Tomatoes (NOT in oil)

Olive Oil Cooking Spray

2 Egg Whites

3 oz Fat Free Greek Yogurt (or Sour Cream)

2 Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese wedges

1/2c Sargento Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Italian Blend

S&P to taste

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  In a large skillet, sweat your onions and garlic in the cooking spray.  Toss in the chopped tomatoes, spinach and mushrooms and sautee for 3-5 minutes.  In a large bowl, whisk your egg whites until they get a bit frothy then toss in your squash and sauteed veggies.  Mix well.  In a small bowl, microwave the cheese wedges for 12-15 seconds to really soften them up then toss that and the yogurt in the big bowl (S&P goes in now too!).  Mix it all up really well and then pour it into an 8×8 (or 9×9 or whatever small baking dish you have) that’s been sprayed with cooking spray.  Top it with the shredded cheese and bake it for about 30 minutes till hot and bubbly!

**Note:  This was a tad too spinach-y for my taste, so next time around I’ll decrease the spinach (or use fresh) and increase the tomatoes.

Stats for HALF THE PAN!!!!  Oh yeah, you read that right!

  • Servings Per Recipe: 2
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 254.2
  • Total Fat: 7.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 19.5 mg
  • Sodium: 633.2 mg
  • Total Carbs: 23.8 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 5.7 g
  • Protein: 24.3 g

I can’t wait to eat the other half of the pan tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Squashing Saturday

Leave a Reply

